Spatial reference

The connecting element in GIS is the spatial reference. Statements from expert circles assign up to 80% of the information processed in companies and administrations to a spatial reference, which gives an idea of the great application potential of GIS. Depending on the question posed by the user, however, this potential varies greatly. In surveying, a direct spatial reference (cf. ISO 19111 Geoinformation - coordinate reference systems) is given by the specification of two- or three-dimensional coordinates or corresponding construction regulations, which are based on a defined coordinate reference system and a primary metric, i.e. mathematically clearly defined properties such as the distance calculation according to the Pythagoras theorem.

Coordinates

In other areas, such as official statistics or geomarketing, the spatial reference is based on completely different facts. These mostly include a less well defined metric - also called secondary metric or indirect spatial reference (ISO 19112 Geoinformation - spatial reference with geographical identifiers) - and a much lower accuracy. They are mostly area-related and less sharply defined. Typical spatial reference variables are:

  • Names as spatial designations (e.g. place names, district names, field names or location designations) that roughly describe an area. In geographical name directories, so-called gazetteers, corresponding geometries are stored in geographical coordinates for each identifier in order to be able to assign the course of a river as a line in geographical coordinates for a river name, for example, or to be able to query a country name for a point coordinate.
  • Addresses such as city, street name, house number as the basis for a large number of data surveys, e.g. in residents' registration, vehicle registration or in the supply and waste disposal industry.
Addresses
Indicators
street names
  • Indicators as placeholders for spatial territorial divisions such as postal codes, telephone codes, municipal codes, electoral district numbers, parcel numbers, Nielsen areas in geomarketing, NUTS (Nomenclatura des unit√©s territoriales statistiques) as a system of territorial and administrative units in Europe. These systems are subject to constant change, and often the different spatial divisions are not spatially congruent and therefore difficult to merge.
  • Others such as kilometre markings and stationing along traffic routes and waterways or smaller-scale subdivisions below the municipal level (e.g. market cells on a household basis or building blocks).

Raumbezug

Das verbindende Element in GIS ist der Raumbezug. Aussagen aus Expertenkreisen weisen bis zu 80% der in Unternehmen und Verwaltungen verarbeiteten Informationen einen Raumbezug zu, womit sich das große Einsatzpotenzial der GIS erahnen lässt. Dieses stellt sich je nach der Fragestellung des Nutzers allerdings sehr unterschiedlich dar. Im Vermessungswesen ist ein direkter Raumbezug (vgl. ISO 19111) über die Angabe von zwei- oder dreidimensionalen Koordinaten oder entsprechenden Konstruktionsvorschriften angegeben, denen ein definiertes Koordinatenbezugssystem und eine primäre Metrik, d.h. mathematisch klar definierte Eigenschaften wie die Abstandsberechnung nach dem Satz von Pythagoras, zugrunde liegt.

Koordinaten

In anderen Bereichen wie z. B. der amtlichen Statistik oder im Geomarketing beruht der Raumbezug auf vollständig anderen Fakten. Diese beinhalten zumeist eine schwächer definierte Metrik – auch sekundäre Metrik oder indirekter Raumbezug (ISO 19112 - Raumbezug mit geographischen Identifikatoren) genannt – und eine wesentlich geringere Genauigkeit. Sie sind zumeist flächenbezogen und weniger scharf abgegrenzt. Typische Raumbezugsgrößen sind:

  • Namen als räumliche Bezeichnungen (z. B. Orts-, Stadtteil-, Gemarkungs-, Flurnamen oder Lagebezeichnungen), die grob ein Gebiet umschreiben. In geographischen Namensverzeichnissen, sogenannte Gazetteers, werden für die Bezeichner jeweils entsprechende Geometrien in geographischen Koordinaten hinterlegt, um etwa für einen Flussnamen den Flussverlauf als Linienzug in geographischen Koordinaten zuordnen zu können, bzw. für eine Punktkoordinate einen Landesnamen abfragen zu können.
  • Adressen wie Stadt, Straßenname, Hausnummer als Basis einer Vielzahl von Datenerhebungen z. B. im Einwohnermeldewesen, in der Fahrzeugzulassung oder in der Ver- und Entsorgungswirtschaft.

Adressen

Kennziffer

Straßennamen

  • Kennziffern als Platzhalter für räumliche Gebietsgliederungen wie Postleitzahlen, Telefonvorwahlen, Gemeindekennziffern, Wahlbezirksnummern, Flurstücksnummern, Nielsen-Gebiete im Geomarketing, NUTS (Nomenclatura des unites territoriales statistiques) als Systematik der Gebiets- und Verwaltungseinheiten in Europa etc. Diese Systeme unterliegen immer wieder Änderungen und oftmals sind die unterschiedlichen Raumgliederungen untereinander auch nicht räumlich deckungsgleich und somit aufwändig ineinander zu überführen.

  • Andere wie z. B. Kilometrierungen und Stationierungen entlang von Verkehrs- und Gewässerwegen oder kleinräumigere Gliederungen unterhalb der Gemeindeebene (z. B. Marktzellen auf Haushaltsbasis oder Baublöcke).